The 2000 Faraday Cup Award

Presented to

Kay Wittenburg, DESY

Left to right: Julien Bergoz, Bergoz Instrumentation,  
presenting the Faraday Cup Award to Kay Wittenburg
with Coles Sibley of MIT Bates Laboratory looking on.

Kay Wittenburg of DESY won the award for the design of a beam loss monitoring detector using using PIN diodes in a coincidence configuration. This design has the ability to discriminate between sychrotron radiation present in electron accelerators and radiation due to actual beam loss.


Wittenburg, K., "The PIN-Diode Beam Loss Monitor system at HERA", Beam Instrumentation Workshop, AIP Conf. Proc. 546 (p3), 2000

Home    Past Winners